The Daylight War cover…

So, Peter V. Brett author of the Demon Cycle series is having another contest over at his website (it ends October 15th, 2012 so work fast if you want to enter), this time it is the: Make your own Daylight War cover contest. So I decided to enter, which meant that I would have to draw something. So here is the breakdown on the final cover. I mainly use my old Photoshop program for simple photo editing so this was a bit of a change for me working with multiple layers and transparencies.

I started with a drawing of two of the main characters in the series. After finishing the drawing I scanned it into the computer and cleaned up then I saved it as a transparent PNG file for later.

Daylight War Drawing

Next was to find a background, so going through my photo’s I found this picture that I took back in August.

Original Photo

I then tweaked the image in Photoshop and created this watercolor like effect with a touch of HDR (High Dynamic Range).

Altered Background

After that I overlaid the original drawing and cropped the background image to fit. I then did some further editing to the layers in Photoshop to adjust the image and then inserted one more layer for the title. After it was all said and done the final image was created and submitted to the contest and Mr. Brett.

Final Cover

I received a tweet from Mr. Brett, he seemed to like it, so I am hoping I win! But after seeing some of the other entries I think I may be in trouble.

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

UPDATE: I have been notified that I am one of the winners! Very Cool!

2 thoughts on “The Daylight War cover…

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑