Home > Incoherent Text > Snake!…but not on a plane…

Snake!…but not on a plane…

Well, we have been breaking some records on the weather front locally today, so with the heat still radiating from the ground I headed out for some sunset photos. As I was heading to the car I noticed that I was losing the light faster than I thought I would be so instead of driving somewhere I headed out in the park behind my house again. After taking a wrong trail that meant a bit of a slide down a hill I was able to get to a somewhat decent point for some photos.

Branches in the sunset

Branches in the sunset

Sunset between Dead Pines

Sunset between Dead Pines

Dead pine in the fading light

Dead pine in the fading light

Sunset City Panorama

Sunset City Panorama

After a few shots I decided to try for more of a city view and headed on down the trail. I originally was not planning on doing any bush whacking so I was not properly attired. I was going along nicely until I got a chunk of cactus stuck in my sock and once the needles hit home I jerked my leg up and scored my other leg with the bugger. Setting down my tripod I proceeded to pull the thorns from my legs; while doing that I look over and see the tail end of a snake. So I forgot about my cactus issue and got the camera ready. Unfortunately not the best photos of the Gopher snake but it was dark and it was not like he was going to stop and pose for me. It was one of those rare encounters for the area so I had to take what pictures I could. Been in the town for many years now and this is the first snake I have come across so I am happy with the find.

Gopher snake #1

Gopher snake #1

Gopher snake #2

Gopher snake #2

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

