Home > Incoherent Text > Return of the Journal of an unemployed bum at home…Day 1:…Maybe…

Return of the Journal of an unemployed bum at home…Day 1:…Maybe…

Wow, been a while once again…I’ll never have a career as a blogger…

So after only 6 months at my new job I came to the conclusion that this job was not going to work out. So taking the insane step of leaving a paying job without a new job to go to I gave my 2 weeks’ notice.

Today was my last day.

Surprisingly I am not really feeling the stress of being an unemployed bum like I was with the end of my last job. It might be the fact that this was my choice, not the result of company downsizing. But in the long run I think this was the right thing for my sanity and for the good of my family.

It might have been when they cancelled my vacation only a week before I was to leave without a viable reason or even a sorry.  My wife mentioned that we could take some pictures of me to Photoshop into the family summer vacation photos that I was not around for. Or it might be the fact that I was working on average a minimum of 20 plus hours a week for free as I was salary. It could have been the daily stress levels of having clients or the company never happy no matter what you did. It could have been the lack of support and poor communication levels from my upper manager(s).  Or maybe it was when I came home on day 6 of 12 days in a row averaging 12-13 hour each day when my wife looked at me and simply stated you have my full support to quit. All in all I think I hit my “Retail” breaking point, it may be late in my life but it is time for a career change.

So begins the job hunt once again…

I returned home tonight to at least one positive, a request for an interview from one of the companies that I had applied to last week. So I will be going in on Monday for an interview and facility tour. Total left field on the job front for me (but that was the idea right?), the company is worldwide and has been consistently growing since its inception, so there appears to be room to grow with them. If they like me then I am to have orientation on Tuesday, and here I thought I might have a bit of a summer vacation finally…

Ah well, the other downside of getting a job so soon will be I won’t be able to clean the house…Darn, no I really mean it…NOT!

In the mean time enjoy some cute critters I was able to get some pictures of today…

Sisyphus The Chipmunk

Beware the Mushroom…

Chipmunk on Alert

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

  1. September 7, 2012 at 9:36 PM

    Your wife sounds lovely! So supportive of you…
    Glad you are on the road to a better and happier life. You deserve so much more! Hope this new career works out for you. And maybe you can get a vacation with your wonderful family this year. Love you!

  2. September 10, 2012 at 5:35 AM

    Gotta love chipper!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

