Home > Incoherent Text > Day 23: Journal of an unemployed bum at home…

Day 23: Journal of an unemployed bum at home…

Well my Day 23 (today) 2nd meeting has been changed again, now it will take place on Day 26. I am finding all these re-bookings a little odd but it’s not like I have anything else booked. I can definitely say that the local job market is very sparse. There are jobs out there if you want to work at minimum wage flipping burgers or making Double Doubles and only part-time. But the job listings for full time are pretty non-existent.

As always the daytime TV choices are making me pull what little hair I have out. I saw for the first time today the live action version of Thunderbird’s, alas it did not live up to the 1960’s original in my mind. I was also not aware that it was directed by Jonathan Frakes; Number One, you have failed me for the last time! I did a number of odd jobs around the house then hit the local grocery store to pick up some items for dinner. For the first time in my life I had a tuna casserole (confirmed via facecrack by my mother…LOL) it was made in an effort to appease the kids who rave about the same dish from their preschool. Do not trust the words of little ones for they know not of what they speak; as they refused to eat their dinner. We got a few bites into them but in the end it was a waste of time & effort, at least my DW and myself liked it and it was easy so it will be made again.

Since I have yet to sell anything via my Cafe Press website I think I will be shutting it down. I think I just need to admit to myself that I can’t draw well enough to be marketable. This seems to stem from my history of being a Jack of All Trades and Master of None. A.A.D.D. was not a term used back in the days when I grew up, but there are times I really think I should be checked out, as I tend to bounce around from project to project quite quickly.

At least I am not that way with work, I was discussing with the Operations Manager at the store today while shopping on how bad today’s kids are. There is no pride of a job done well anymore, nor is there any loyalty to a company. Sure you can bitch about how little the pay is, but for a first time employee you should be happy that you have a job in the first place. He had another 2 kids not show up for their FIRST day of work today and had to scramble to get others to fill in the shifts. I really wonder at times for the state of the future world with the kids we are bringing up today. I mean this sense of entitlement is not something recent, I knew kids back in the day that got whatever they wanted without doing a lick of work to get it. But it sure seems to be increasing over the years. I mean if you cannot even have the decency to contact an employer and let them know that they need to find someone else for the job because you changed your mind or found something else there is a problem. I mean they have gone through the time to review your resume, set time away to interview you, hire you and then you don’t even show up for your first day on the job, not even a phone call. That equals time & money lost for the company, which in turn means they have to up the prices to cover all the re-training. I had one store that I called on that the lead trainer went on stress leave due to the fact that the store on a MONTHLY basis had 100% turn over on their part-time staff. She just could not keep up with all the new people every month. Sure the company might not have such an issue if they gave more full time positions but in today’s market that seems to be very rare. On the flip side I had one store that had so many long term employees with 7 weeks off + A.T.O’s + stat holidays that when all the numbers are added up they worked a total of 27 weeks out of the year. How do you have enough people on staff to cover 7 days a week, 7am to 10pm with the majority of your staff working at such levels? Add in the fact that if they have to work overtime it all goes towards their A.T.O’s again meaning more time off.

Oh well, at the rate it is going I might wind up with a number of part time jobs just to make ends meet. I grew up being taught that you may not like your job, but as long as you are there and getting paid; you do that job, and you do it well. Unless I win millions and never have to work a day in my life I will never have the “perfect” job, but I will do what I am paid to do and more while there. I may bitch about it and wish I was somewhere else, but none of my ex-employers can say I shirked my duties. I had one job years ago where the owner pulled me to the side and asked me what the issue was since he felt I was pacing the floor like a caged animal. I simply told him that this was the first job I ever had that I was paid to sit and wait for a customer, and it was driving me up the wall. If I am getting paid I should be working, not sitting in an office twiddling my thumbs waiting for someone to come in. I might spend hours surfing the web at home, but I can’t do it when I am at a job getting paid.

Well I think I should end my digital diatribe for now, if you want me to spout off on any current events leave a suggestion in the comments, but there is no guarantee I will comply.

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

