Home > Incoherent Text > Day 10, 11 and 12: Journal of an unemployed bum at home…

Day 10, 11 and 12: Journal of an unemployed bum at home…

Where has the time gone…

I figured with all this time off I would be having a bit of a break and here it is Day 12 and still no nap, WTF?

I walked into one of my old stores and had one of the guys commented on how tired I looked, he said I looked better when I was working full time. I guess I’m showing the stress more externally, that and I’m going a little stir crazy at home, daytime TV sucks, and even though I have kids that make a hurricane seem tame there is only so much cleaning I can do. I’m sure my neighbor downstairs is sick of me vacuuming almost daily.

Mornings are still the routine of getting the kids to preschool and then home to do the morning review of the job sites and sending resumes out. On the weekends we keep the kids busy as normal do the shopping and such. Though I am making more day trips to the stores to pick up the odd item I need for dinners and such. Even made nice Anjou pears crumble for dessert the other night, my how I am becoming domesticated (sic…kill me now).

I was finally was able to sit down with the one store manager about being a reference for me as he was away one week for meetings then returned home sick and was off for another week. But he is more than happy to be a reference, especially after my helping out the store for the WHL game night (for those not following the blogs, it took place after I was laid-off).

I got tired of watching one of my posted resumes status sit as “under review” at a local jobs website, so I took a resume down in person to hand in. Would have had a job right there if I was willing to move; which is not really an option, nor is having two households in separate towns. Just my luck…

Since I still have full coverage medically over the next few weeks I have booked myself into a number of visits to have any remaining issues dealt with before I am only on my wife’s plan. Today was a dental cleaning and check-up to see if there are any issues, the dentists’ only concern was getting a crown put onto an old root canal so I get to go in for that on the 14th, Happy Valentine’s Day to me! I have also come to the conclusion that dental hygienists must be closet sadists. I have bleed less having the root canal the dentist wants to put the crown on, than I did today for a “simple” cleaning. Next time I need to take some Tylenol or Aspirin BEFORE I go to the dentist. It hurt to eat a nice fresh and fluffy bun I bought at the store today.

I have had a few job offers over the last week, but it seems I am a lode stone for jobs that fall under the WTF category:

  • No, I don’t want to become a local franchise for your company; I need to make money, not pay you money to have a job.
  • No, I do not want to do Telesales, really? The last guy made $20,000 in a month, then why is he the last guy?
  • No, I don’t want to use my own personal bank account to collect money for your insurance company that I cannot find listed anywhere in Canada the U.S. or in the entire freaking WORLD! I saved that insurance email to pass onto the police fraud division.

My old boss who was laid-off the week before I was gave me a call to see how the job hunt was going. I was honest and told him lots of copies of the resume out but no call backs. As for him, he has not really begun searching as he has a better severance deal than me due to many more years with the company. Other than that the general conversation included, family, old co-workers and such. I have to say in my 6 years with the company I had 3 direct bosses, and I found him to be the best of those 3. It was part of the reason it was so shocking to hear the week before that he was let go, it was not like he wasn’t doing his job.

Every time that I go out to run some errands I am reminded of the fun that I had daily driving the roads and highways. There are drivers on the roads that just make me want to go ballistic on, but I bite my tongue and get past it. I am finding a trend or more to the fact I am reminded of the issue; the more expensive the vehicle the less turn signals and general driving courtesy is used. Are you telling me that fancy Mercedes of yours did not come with turn-signals as an option? You drive a Mercedes so everyone just needs to get out of your way? Wish I could just do a little PIT maneuver on them…

Ah well I guess that is enough of an update for now, speaking of pear crumble, there is still a bowl in the fridge…yum.

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

