Home > Challenge Log, Incoherent Text > Just my luck…

Just my luck…

So after many tests and doctor visits it seems I finally have the answer to what ails me; I have an non-operable (unless it gets really, really bad) Sliding Hiatal Hernia up near the esophagus and top of the stomach. This thing even accounts for my wonderful Pseudo heart attack that started all the tests in the first place (from what I understand it put enough pressure into my chest cavity to squish the lungs and heart). So after the doctor and researching online there is not much to be done for this thing. Mainly one is stuck with it and has to adjust accordingly. One of the big issues from what I am reading is Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) which means the old stomach acid gets into the esophagus and starts burning holes through it. So for that I am on a new medication; Proton Pump Inhibitors (PPIs), which will be for the rest of my life it seems (need to keep good  medical coverage as this stuff is not cheap). At least I am not a lover of spicy foods so that is one dietary change I won’t have to make.

So as with anything the doc recommends the normal things, eat right, 6 small meals a day (Sound familiar Mom?), lose weight, take meds, and no heavy lifting. Now this last one  is where I am having an issue, neither the doctor or what I read online can tell me what weight is too heavy to lift. Do I need to stop at 25 lbs, 50 lbs, 100 lbs, 200 lbs. Do I have to stop lifting my kids, stop taking the groceries up the stairs, how much is too much at the gym? Or in general? So far I’m not finding an answer anywhere, and so I’m most likely not going to change my life aside from what I do at the gym; guess I’m stuck doing more boring cardio and no more of this…

So until I can get a definitive answer it seems to me that life will keep moving along as normal. Still waiting on the pulmonary tests but seems like this would be the issue there as well, not enough room for the lungs to fully inflate as one of the hernia’s symptoms can be misdiagnosed as Asthma since it affects the diaphragm.

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

