Home > Incoherent Text > How was your day?…

How was your day?…

So it is Thursday, time to drive to Revelstoke to see my stores on my bi-weekly visit. Normal enough day, not so bad a start weather wise from home, but getting progressively worse the closer to my destination. Coming down a pretty good down grade hill outside of Sicamous heading for the bridge when I come around the corner and see a semi jack-knifed in the middle of the 4 lane. Roads are icy as hell so as I start breaking I go into a slide hoping to stop before I hit the semi. As I turn into the slide I finally get traction around the center-line and get the vehicle going where I want it to go, till I notice that the danger in front is the least of my worries as the semi truck behind me is full on the binders and sliding right at me. I find it strange how the mind works at stressful times as I suddenly get an image of a Mythbusters episode in my mind of them trying to fuse a small car between two semi trucks. I get myself over to the far side of the oncoming lane as the semi goes sliding past me. That driver was doing some major work with that truck getting it to line up towards the front of the jack-knifed cab and the guard rail, while missing me and the car that was in front of me. With his own flat deck jack-knifing and the road conditions he did one hell of a job controlling that rig. Unfortunately the husband of the driver who was a passenger had just climbed out of the cab and was behind the door when the other truck hit. The wife asked me to call 911 which I did and after giving details I grabbed my emergency kit from the car and went over to help. We had to get the other truck moved off the gentleman’s leg as it was pinned under one of the rear axle tires and had a number of deep cuts to his head and face. A number of us bystanders helped stabilize him as best we could till the ambulance arrived but though he was conscious and talking he was in complete shock and not feeling anything was wrong and kept trying to get up. We kept him as warm as we could while on the ice-covered asphalt and were relieved by the local search & rescue team until the ambulance arrived. Hopefully he got lucky and does not have a number of internal injuries as well. I’ll have to watch the news sites to see if I can find an update on his health status. I gave my details and all information about the accident that I knew to the police and after the gentleman was taken to hospital I was allowed to leave. Went back to Salmon Arm and took care of some stores there and then called it an early day and came home.

I think I need a drink.

1. Jack-Knifed Truck in Road

2. Truck that was behind me

3. Unfortunate spot where passenger was standing

So enough for now…as some other sparkly has my attention…till next time…OH SO SHINY…
D.

Categories: Incoherent Text
  1. Tina
    February 3, 2011 at 5:06 PM

    OMG! I am SO GLAD you are okay! That must have scared the crap out of you! I hope that guy is okay…

    • February 3, 2011 at 6:10 PM

      it was not fun, but shorts were clean after it all…

  2. Alexandria
    February 3, 2011 at 10:01 PM

    wow, that is so scarry, glad that you are alright, good idea to head for home!!! love you A

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

